Stock


Well, all the stock has now been ordered, delivered, checked and accounted for, numerous items have found their way into select places in our home, just couldn’t resist but hey, we do have to road test them after all……  there are a couple of items I will not order again and in fact have sent them back – well, I tried to send them back, a credit has been received but the goods not physically collected – I wonder if they will ever come…………..unfortunately the quality of these particular items did not meet the Lindsay Interiors standard 😦 

All in all I am happy with the first collection but am conscious of that I will need to order more stock very quickly after launching to add to my existing lines.  We have about 60 odd lines to go live with, we will add product lines every month, difficult to judge how many exactly, will have to see what happens when we launch, but I do already have some products in mind, some wonderful crockery with word art…..some fantastic contemporary prints like this one on the right….some great clocks, the list is never-ending and it’s the favourite part of my job 🙂  I love that you’ll be able to come to Lindsay Interiors online boutique on a regular basis and always find something new…..

We now have a large number of large boxes situated around the house as they currently have no other home, I briefly looked into self storage facilities locally but they wanted too much money, so will keep on looking.  In the meantime finding the relevant product at the relevant time will be an interesting experience.  We also have a whole host of necessary packaging equipment around like boxes, protection materials, tabs and labels, tape and guns, and so it goes on.  The more I think about this the more I think I am going to have to prioritise the storage facility 🙂 if anyone knows of anything going spare let me know 🙂

Talking of packaging, as each item comes in I have checked the packaging, removing labels where relevant and deciding on “shipping out” packaging, protection and sealing for that particular item, of course some people may order multiple products so bigger packaging may also be required but we’ve taken that into account.  We have new labels and fabric labels (for cushions and lavender hearts made by yours truly) in progress.

This whole back order process that the suppliers work to is a new one on me, the fact that some suppliers will automatically charge you and ship out when the remainder of the order is ready, some will scrub those items from your order completely without telling you and some tell you to contact them in a few weeks to see if the items are available and if you still want them, hard to keep a tally and a potential issue on the cashflow front.

Onwards and upwards 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Stock

  1. John says:

    It sounds like everything is moving along fantastically. 🙂

    Back orders are a pain, especially since some suppliers try to charge twice for carriage 😦

Leave a comment