of all trades


I gave myself a rather stern talking to last week because I felt my level of focus with regards to certain areas of Lindsay Interiors had slipped a little.  My excuse for this is lack of time but in reality it’s partly due to lack of knowledge and general know-how on how to proceed, progress and grow.

When I decided to embark on the Lindsay Interiors road I did sort of know that to run your own business you need to be a pretty good Jack of all trades and indeed my tasks have so far included being a writer, buyer, designer, bookkeeper, accountant, IT technician, warehouse person, administrator, post office clerk, customer service representative and so the list goes on.  I do love all these different aspects, keeps it interesting,  but there are some areas that I don’t like or enjoy and that’s marketing.  I know I can pay someone to do it but all of Lindsay Interiors income goes towards more gorgeous products for customers to drool over so however much I dislike something I just need to knuckle down and do it.

So I did.  My lovely partner already artfully arranges and sends out our monthly newsletters but we had yet to write or send a press release so I decided this was the next best place to start and never a better time with Father’s Day coming up.  But where to start…….I spent some time researching press releases, who to send them to, how and what the content should be, wrote a quick draft, added some pics and hey presto, off it went on Sunday evening.

Two days later only 12% of the recipients have opened the email so far but we’re not discouraged (even after receiving a rather rude msg from someone telling us to go away).  We know this takes perseverance and I am quite good at being persistent but it just reiterates that you have to be consistent and to plough through everything on a regular basis.  I should be keeping a dated to do list showing what activity needs to take place when on the marketing front otherwise before you know it it’s been 3 months since the last communication.

You never know, one of these editors may one day get sick and tired of seeing these mailings from Lindsay Interiors and so they will open one only to discover they love what they see 🙂

This entry was posted in accessories, decor, home, interiors, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment